Beatscribe featured on uWin compilation now out on uCollective

Screen Shot 2015-08-31 at 7.01.45 AMIm very honored to share a release with some excellent and talented chip artists on the latest µCollective release “µWin“. It’s possibly the most diverse release I’ve ever been a part of. It features many submissions for Chiptunes=Win and especially seems to highlight less standard styles of Chiptunes music.

This is not a dance best kind of album, it has all kinds of tracks. Many of the tracks have a very moody and atmospheric feel which is just awesome. Some standout tracks in my opinion are Kubikami’s The Bothersomeness, Jentu’s Luna, and Evaleigh’s Apathy Syndrome. There’s so much variety its hard to pick a few to highlight.

My submission, “offline hours” is no exception. It’s one of the slowest pieces I’ve ever made. I wanted to make a Dave Gilmour style piece using the SNES. The entire thing is composed with only ten samples, most of them under a second in length. It really shows what the SNES was capable doing. These sounds come from a variety of games but I tries not to use them in their most standard way. I think I bent as many sounds as possible out of that tiny guitar harmonic sample. Go grab a copy today and keep supporting this awesome net label.
If you’re interested in making your own SNES tunes, this post from the past will get you started.

Leave a comment

Leave a comment